Semi Review of Suicide Squad

I wanted to like this so much more than I did. I listened to all the hype and was slightly disappointed. That being said, it wasnt all bad. I give it a 2.5 outta 5.

The banter between Idris Elba and John Cena was cute, I admit I laughed out loud at them once (I went to a 1:30 pm show so there was a massive crowd of 3 people in the audience, including yours truly so I could have whooped it up and heckled the screen if I wanted to,) But it wasn’t the gut busting yuks I expected.

Viola Davis does her usual cold hearted job as Amanda Waller. I still wonder how CCH Pounder who voiced the character on the Cartoon Justice League would have done.

There were a couple of “Holy Shit ” moments which surprised me. I did not see them coming.

There’s a lot of violence and gore in this movie (When this makes it to TBS/TNT reruns they’re gonna edit the shiznit outta this.) It did seem to take quite awhile to get to the main villain of the movie, Starro. It definitely picked things up. I was surprised at the choice of Starro, who if memory serves correct was the first big foe of the Justice League.

I dont know who stole more scenes, Sebastian the Rat or King Shark (Voiced by Sylvester Stallone with more dialogue than Vin Diesel, but less than Bradley Cooper in Guardians of the Galaxy.)

“Why is that rat waving at me?”

SORTA SPOILER ALERT: There are 2 post credit sequences after the movies end. The first happens during the credits and doesnt amount to much story wise. The second does leave the door open for something I wont say what but it takes FOREVER to get to as its after the credits end. Also there were some interesting choices on the soundtrack I thought. I’ll leave them for you to discover.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment