Now I know how people who get weepy over Ebbetts Field feel like.

**WARNING Long boring story ahead** I’m an unabashed long suffering Las Vegas Raider fan. Unlike many of my friends who root for the Jersey Jets and Jersey Giants, I’ve been a member of Raider Nation since I was a kid. I was reminded of how and why I became a fan this morning on my way to work.

When they redid the schoolyard in PS 152, they inadvertently created a shrine to the spot where I was convinced to dump my hometown team. This arch is in what used to be center field (don’t pay that bootleg diamond in the back any mind,  the real diamond was WAY off to the left).

One sunny day I found myself playing center field in one of our usual pickup games. As I stood there channeling my inner Willie Mays, I saw my friends father Jubee, walking by and said hi. He stopped and looked against at me. Why? My t-shirt was emblazoned with the New York Jets logo.

“Oh no” Jubee said. “We got to get you with a real man’s team like the Raiders.” Young impressionable me decided at that moment I was gonna dump the Jets if somebody that cool said the Raiders were the team to root for. I haven’t looked back since. They’ve won 3 Super bowls and lost one justifying (in my mind) abandoning Broadway Joe and the crew.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment