What the hell? Oh never mind.

Remember when I was yapping about Hollywood remakes? (https://rodneyrodney.wordpress.com/2010/10/20/my-top-111-of-all-time-104/ ) So I’m walking past a poster on the subway for the new Adam Sandler/Jennifer Aniston Flick Just Go With It, when I saw in the poster’s credits “Based on ‘Cactus Flower” screenplay by I.A.L. Diamond”.

Suddenly My mind was ablaze-Cactus Flower? The 1969 Goldie Hawn/Walter Matthau movie? Good lord I haven’t thought about that movie since Goodtimes Home Video leased it from RCA/Columbia and put it out in LP mode on VHS! (Yes I know that sounds strange, but thinking like that kept me employed for a lot of years.)

I felt kind of outraged about that but then realized who besides me, Goldie Hawn, and Roger Ebert would even remember that movie.  I do tend to over-think things occasionally. But there are times when over-thinking is a good thing. Like on the Subway. Until you miss your stop daydreaming.  I thought how must Goldie feel seeing Jennifer Aniston playing her part in a remake? I then realized that Jennifer Aniston wasn’t playing Goldie’s role but Ingrid Bergman’s. I then thought that if she’s as vain as they say she is in the gossip columns nobody dared tell her that.

When uploading the Cactus poster for this post saw the name Gene Saks. I remembered not only was this man married to Bea Arthur (Maude, Golden Girls) but he was in one of my top movies of all time The One and Only! Mind you most of his lines in that movie  consisted of wisecracking about “my son the fruit”, but he killed doing it.

I’m giggling non-stop as I type this so I’m gonna dig this movie up and watch it and put it on the Top 111 list.

Later.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment